International SUP Athletes Assemble For Fourth N1SCO World Championships in Sydney, Australia

November 18, 2016

November 4, 2016, Narrabeen Lake Sydney, Australia – Racing strictly on the Naish ONE 12’6” inflatable SUP, an international field of SUP athletes travelled to Australia for the fourth edition of the N1SCO World Championships.

The field, which consisted of just below 90 paddlers from seven nations, mostly from Europe and Asia, were treated to incredible race conditions with sunshine and light winds all weekend.

Action kicked off with the sprint and intermediate races taking place on Saturday, November 5th and the long distance and team relay on Sunday, November 6th. Racers were divided into multiple classes with open men/women, over 40 men/women, over 50 men and youth (16 and under) for girls and boys. The sprint course was 200 meters, intermediate was 400 meters, long distance for men was 10K and 5K for women. However, a few women, including Sweden’s Maya Persson and Japan’s Atsuko Hishikura, raced on the 10K course.

Also in attendance was Naish International team rider Casper Steinfath, who came to Australia after wrapping up the 2016 Stand Up World Series to give paddling clinics and enjoy the event.

The N1SCO World Championships is truly a unique event with the main rule being all paddlers must race on a production Naish ONE 12’6” inflatable SUP board. For the first time paddlers were also divided into different classes allowing for more competitive racing action.

Plans for the 2017 N1SCO World Championships have not yet been announced, to follow N1SCO Racing go to

View the recap video here:


Open Men:
1. Andy Davies, AUS
2. Andreas Svensson, SEW
3. Andi Saurer, SUI

Open Women:
1. Maya Persson, SWE
2. Atsuko Hishikura, JAP
=3. Storm Wheatley, AUS
=3. Katja Danielsson, AUS

Over 40 Men:
1. Brenden Clark, AUS
2. David Kissane, AUS
3. David White, AUS

Over 40 Women:
1. Tammy Montgomery, AUS
2. Traci Dostalek, AUS
3. Emma Clark, AUS

Over 50 Men:
1. Mike Hayes, AUS
2. Brett Barber, AUS
3. David Hume, AUS

Youth boys:
1. Harrison Kane, AUS
2. Clayton Kane, AUS
3. Marshall Kane, AUS

Youth girls:
1. Jessica Montgomery, AUS
2. Taylah Montgomery, AUS
3. Jessica Messenger, AUS

#NaishONE #AustraliaSUPRace #StandUpPaddling #NaishSUP #NaishStandUpPaddling #TeamNaish #SUPRacing #N1SCORacing #N1SCOWorldChampionships

Follow Naish:Facebook  Instagram  Twitter

Follow Our Riders:
Casper Steinfath:Facebook  Instagram